Skip to content
AI Data Payout

Updated November 2026

Pewter vs Ooak Data: which should you talk to about your company's data?

Independent and sourced. We feature companies that pay us a referral fee. Our scores and reviews don't change for it. How we earn

Pewter says it is a go-between, working with an unnamed licensing firm that licenses the data and pays you, with no fee to the owner. Ooak Data says it does the work itself, with its own engine for stripping out names, and that finished deals range from $20K to several hundred thousand dollars. Pewter says a few hours of your time, Ooak says about one, and both take closed companies.1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8

Side by side

Pewter and Ooak Data, row by row

Pewter

6.4/10

#17 in our seller ranking

Visit Pewter

We're in Pewter's referral program, so we may earn a fee if you work with them. It doesn't change our score or review. How we earn

Read our Pewter review

Most cells are what each company says about itself. The numbers link to the sources.

Pewter compared with Ooak Data
TopicPewterOoak Data
What it isA go-between; an unnamed licensing firm licenses the data and pays you1A direct buyer that does its own extraction and name-stripping9,3
Who qualifiesUS firms with 20+ full-time staff now or at peak, 3+ years of records, mainly English7Operating, winding-down and closed companies, with no stated floor; under 20 people gets no estimate8,10
Stated price$350,000 to $650,000 in its partner's three examples11$20K to several hundred thousand in finished deals; headline "up to $1M"4
Fees you payNone at any stage, Pewter says; the partner pays Pewter at close2,1Not stated12
Your timeA few hours5About one hour6
Keeping your dataNothing leaves your systems if no offer is made or you decline; what happens after a deal is not stated2Raw archive deleted within 30 days of delivery, confirmed in writing; stripped copy kept for the license term13
Names and personal detailsNames, contact details, account numbers and credentials removed; you review a sample14,15The same stand-in names across all your systems; faces, logos and signatures blacked out; you review a sample3
Who you are dealing withBuzzlead.io LLC, Florida, doing business as Pewter Labs; three managing partners listed16Ooak Data, Inc., Delaware, and a Paris company; Y Combinator batch, team of 517,18

The real gap

Someone who finds the deal, or someone who does it

With Pewter, the company that pays you is its licensing partner, which it does not name on its site, though it says you learn who it is before you sign anything. Pewter handles the valuation, the written offer, negotiation of price and scope, and coordination with your IT person. That can save you a lot of calls, but ask who the partner is before you go far, because that is the company you will rely on to pay, and since Pewter's fee comes from that partner, ask whose side it is on in the negotiation.1,14

Ooak Data is the opposite, with named founders and a contract that says your company owns its records and licenses them for training only. You pick systems and date ranges, and what you leave out is written into the agreement. It is also very young and very small, with a team of 5, and it says it has contracts with three labs it does not name.18,9,19

Reading the numbers

Two sets of figures that need a second look

Pewter's examples are a 60-person accounting firm at $350,000, a 70-person engineering firm at $450,000 and a 100-person freight broker at $650,000, all as reported by its licensing partner. Its site was registered on October 10, 2026, so none of that has a long record behind it.11,20

Ooak's headline says up to $1M, while the same page says deals to date run from $20K to several hundred thousand dollars. Its estimator stops at $500,000 for most companies, $1,000,000 for one of 500+ people that is still running, and $200,000 for a closed company. In our view the finished-deal line is the one to plan around.4,10

For a closed company, Ooak asks up front for the document showing that a director, liquidator or administrator can sign. Pewter covers firms that are downsizing, winding down or closed if they had 20+ staff at their peak. For a US firm that fits Pewter, it costs nothing to ask both.21,7,2

FAQ

Questions, answered with sources

  • No. It says it works with an unnamed licensing firm, which licenses the data and pays the business, and that firm pays Pewter's fee at close.1

  • Pewter's partner reports $350,000 to $650,000 across three examples. Ooak says finished deals run from $20K to several hundred thousand dollars. Neither is a quote, and Ooak says headcount is one thing that raises value.11,4,8

  • Yes, by their own pages. Pewter takes closed firms that had 20+ staff at peak, and Ooak says it takes closed companies, with its estimate capped at $200,000 for them.7,8,10

  • Pewter asks for 20+ now or at peak, so probably not. Ooak states no floor, though its estimator gives no number under 20 people, and it says value rises with years, headcount and tools.7,10,8

  • Ooak says only Ooak sees raw data, and that it deletes the raw archive within 30 days of delivery. Pewter coordinates the export, so ask who holds the raw copy and for how long.3,13,14

  • Every business is different, so this one is best talked through with the buyer you're working with. Their team goes over it with you before anything is signed.

Before you sign

Every business is different, so these are best talked through with the buyer you're working with. Their team goes over them with you before anything is signed.

Questions for this kind of business

  • For a closed company, who has authority to sign, and who receives the money?
  • What are the trustee's, assignee's, receiver's or board's duties, and who receives the proceeds?

Questions for any buyer

  • Is the license exclusive, and for how long?
  • Can you sublicense the data, and to whom?
  • Which AI labs will receive it, and will you tell us?
  • How long do you keep it, and how is it deleted?
  • What is your liability cap, and who indemnifies whom?
  • Will the contract ban re-identification of people in the data?
  • Who removes personal data, by what method, and do we approve it first?

How this page was made

Figures come from the published sources listed below, and what a buyer says about itself is its own claim. Anything marked as our estimate is ours, not a buyer quote. Drafted with AI help from our research, then checked against each source. Updated October 2026.

We feature companies that pay us a referral fee. Our scores and reviews don't change for it. See how we earn and how we rank. This site does not give legal, tax or financial advice.

Sources (21)

  1. 1.Pewter website. Accessed 14 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  2. 2.Pewter website. Accessed 14 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  3. 3.Ooak Data partner page. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  4. 4.Ooak Data partner page. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  5. 5.Pewter website. Accessed 31 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  6. 6.Ooak Data partner page. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  7. 7.Pewter website. Accessed 14 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  8. 8.Ooak Data partner page. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  9. 9.Ooak Data partner page. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  10. 10.Ooak Data site code. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  11. 11.Pewter website. Accessed 14 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  12. 12.Ooak Data partner page. Accessed 30 Oct 2026.
  13. 13.Ooak Data partner page. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  14. 14.Pewter website. Accessed 14 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  15. 15.Pewter website. Accessed 14 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  16. 16.Pewter privacy policy, published 12 Oct 2026. Accessed 14 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  17. 17.Ooak Data legal page. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  18. 18.Y Combinator directory. Accessed 30 Oct 2026.
  19. 19.Ooak Data job post on Standout. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.
  20. 20.RDAP domain record. Accessed 14 Oct 2026.
  21. 21.Ooak Data partner page. Accessed 30 Oct 2026. Company's own claim.